Create ● Change ● Commend

Sketching a Cake

In Food on 07.29.09 at 9:00 am

Our Kaye is turning 3 at the beginning of August. She has been requesting a pink Disney princess cake. She saw one at the grocery store and wanted one. I’m not purchasing the one from the store because it’s $60 for little cake and lots of plastic decoration. Plus I’m not a big fan of store bought cake. Too much frosting for my taste.

So I came up with an idea. For my birthday this year, I attempted an ice cream cake. It turned out gigantic, but delicious.

ice cream cake

Since Kaye is a pink princess, I will probably bake a strawberry cake, use vanilla ice cream as the middle layer and strawberry ice cream as the frosting. Then how about adding ice cream cones at each corner and use a cream cheese frosting to draw doors and so forth. Perhaps decorate it with Skittles or M&Ms? Any suggestions?

  1. Do you remember the princess castle cake we made for Mary’s girls last year? It was pretty easy and really girly! I’m sure she has pics somewhere.

Leave a Reply

