Create ● Change ● Commend

It’s Going Around

In Crafts on 06.30.09 at 9:12 pm

Back in April Dana from the Made blog posted a tutorial for turning men’s dress shirts into adorable dresses for girls. What a fabulous idea. I had to try it out for myself. I am amazed by the things people can come up with. I absolutely loved the idea of reusing men’s shirts.

The shirt I used for Kaye was a $2 XL shirt from the thrift store. I had to find a pink shirt since she will only wear pink. Kaye’s dress was also my first attempt at applique. Not bad, but not good either.

IMG_0992

The shirt I used for Elle was a Polo shirt from my dad. It had a large rip on one of the side seams.

IMG_0998

  1. I love the fact that you don’t have to make button holes, but how did you do the sleeves? Wouldn’t it be neat to make shirts peasant tops for old girls and ladies

    • The sleeves were a bit tricky but I figured out a simpler way of doing it. Do the casting for the elastic, then pull the elastic through and sew it together.

  2. Very clever & cute. I love the ‘no button holes to make also! Makes me wonder what else you could ‘remake’ with already made clothing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

